Social network

How to Know if Someone Has Blocked You on Facebook Messenger


We’ll show you how to identify if someone has blocked you on Facebook Messenger in this article. Banning others on Messenger is not like blocking them on Facebook; if someone blocks you on Messenger, you will still be Facebook friends and communicate with each other on the timeline. However, if someone bans you on Facebook, you will also be blocked on Messenger, and there is no way for interactions. To determine whether you’ve been blocked on Messenger, first ensure that you haven’t been blocked on Facebook. Afterward, you could see if you’re blocked on Messenger by sending a message and seeing the Sent Icon under the message; It shows you what you need to know.

Are You Blocked on Facebook? (How to find out)

To know if someone has blocked you on Facebook messenger, you have different ways to try. You never get notified when someone blocks you on messenger. The only way to know that is to check a couple of things on the messenger and see how your conversation seems like. It may show you a text, or you have to send a message if something is wrong.

  • Open a Messenger chat with the individual on your desktop, smartphone, or tablet.

If you are blocked on Facebook (on the web or in the official Facebook app), you will also be restricted on Facebook Messenger. Start a Messenger conversation with the person you’re curious about via the Messenger Mobile app or on the web at this link: https://www.facebook.com/messages.

  • It says, “This person is unavailable on Messenger.”

If you see this text in the box where you typically enter a message, you are not blocked. We can declare that the person’s account has been disabled or that Facebook has erased their profile.. Facebook does not place this text at the bottom of deactivated accounts for some reason not explained. As a result, you may need other ways to double-check if it is they’ve blocked you or deactivated their accounts.

  • Look at the Profile Photo and Name of the Person

It is possible that this person has not deactivated or deleted their account if their profile photo and name are still visible at the top of the chat. In this case, they may have deactivated their account, not blocked you. However, if their profile picture is now a gray outline of a person instead of their old photo, they may have deactivated their account.
Sometimes, but not always, deactivated accounts are renamed with the name “Facebook User” instead of their old names. A person’s account may be gone if Facebook has deleted it for violating terms or if the user has permanently deleted their account. In case of deactivation, people can reactivate their deactivated Facebook accounts at any time and you will be able to see their accounts in a normal way.

  • Visit the Person’s Profile by Clicking or Tapping on Their Name

You can find out for sure what’s going on by clicking or tapping the person’s name at the top of the chat. The profile page can also be accessed on a phone or tablet by tapping on the Profile.

  • Check for an Error Message

The next thing to happen is either you’ll see the person’s Profile or an error that says “This Content Isn’t Available Right Now” (or something similar). You can figure out what that means by following these steps:
The person’s Facebook profile should appear normal if you can view it usually and their account is active. Even if they have blocked you on Facebook, they may not have blocked you on Messenger.
In Messenger, if their profile picture was gray and said “This Content Isn’t Available Right Now” (or something similar), they have not blocked you—they have deactivated their account (or Facebook has deleted it).
The person, however, is blocking you on Messenger if their profile photo and name are visible at the top of the chat and “This Content Isn’t Available Right Now” is displayed on their Facebook profile. The person may have blocked you both on Facebook and Facebook Messenger if their name is no longer in your Friends list and you cannot find them on either platform.

  • Sending a Message

You can start a conversation with the person by opening Messenger on your computer, tablet, or phone.
If you have determined that you aren’t blocked on Facebook, you can check the details of a sent message to see if you are blocked on Messenger. If you are curious about the individual, start a conversation, and you will see what happens next. By details, we mean the Sent Icon next to the message. This icon shows that you are not blocked. Note that in Messenger, you’ll still see the conversation with the blocked person, even if you’re blocked.

  • Send a Message to the Person

You can use a simple hello, a question, an emoji, or anything else you want. You’ll see a circle with a single checkmark next to your message when you send it. This indicates that the message has been sent but not yet received. It’s usually possible to figure out if someone blocked you based on that icon’s behavior over time. It’s possible that Facebook has terminated their account or that their messaging has been restricted due to complaints if you see a red exclamation point icon instead of a checkmark icon (or you see “Not Everyone can message this account”). They do not block you.

  • Wait a Few Minutes, and then Check the Sent Icon

Usually, it takes some time for the checkmark icon you saw earlier to change to another icon:
The circle around the checkmark will fill with a solid color if the person has not opened your message despite being logged in to Facebook on a computer or using Messenger on their phone or tablet.
Your checkmark will be replaced by the person’s profile photo when they open your message.
If the recipient never opened or received the message, there would still be the original Sent icon, the hollow circle with a checkmark inside. You have probably been blocked if the icon hasn’t changed and they’ve been on Facebook or Messenger.

  • Check to See if They’ve Used Facebook or Messenger

A mutual friend can tell you whether the person has seen or responded to any of the person’s messages on Facebook. In the case where you’ve been in communication with the person, but the Sent icon has never changed during the conversation, you’re blocked on Messenger and can not communicate with them anymore unless they unblock you.


Last Words
You are not the only one who cares about being blocked on Facebook Messenger. Anyway, there are multiple ways to know if someone has blocked you. The first way is to check the details of the conversation and look for signs of being blocked on Facebook, such as the message: “ This person is unavailable on Messenger.” If it doesn’t work for you, you can also try sending them a message to see the details of the message you send. The details are the status of your sent message,, and you will know if they’ve blocked you because you can’t send them the message in that case. If you can not understand the issue through these ways, ask a mutual friend if they have used the messenger recently. They might know the answer!

Was this post helpful?

Dyka Smith
Dyka Smith is a content marketing professional at Inosocial, an inbound marketing and sales platform that helps companies attract visitors, convert leads, and close customers. Previously, Dyka worked as a marketing manager for a tech software startup. She graduated with honors from Columbia University with a dual degree in Business Administration and Creative Writing.

    You may also like

    Comments are closed.